This content was first published on and should not be copied or reproduced.


The verdict is in, as the seven lucky designers chosen by the NEWGEN committee for sponsorship – including one very recent addition to the board who goes by the name of Mary Katrantzou – have been revealed. And they are, in no particular order…

1205, Marques’Almeida, Lucas Nascimento, Simone Rocha, Ryan Lo, Claire Barrow and Danielle Romeril.

“Everyone who enters NEWGEN knows that this scheme, with all its unique benefits, can set them on the same road as Christopher Kane, Nicholas Kirkwood, Mary Katrantzou or JW Anderson – in other words, to be top names in international fashion,” said Sarah Mower MBE, a spokesperson for the selection committee.

“I would like to thank Sir Philip Green for paving this astonishing British path to the top – Topshop’s sponsorship of NEWGEN really is held in awe by many a nation.”

Ryan Lo will receive presentation sponsorship, Claire Barrow and Danielle Romeril will receive exhibition sponsorship, and 1205, Marques’Almeida, Lucas Nascimento and Simone Rocha (whose design is pictured above) will receive catwalk support.

As a NEWGEN recipient herself, we have every faith that Mary Katrantzou helped the group make an informed decision. Congrats to all the designers – we can’t wait to see what they come up with for the autumn/winter 2014 season!


This content was first published on and should not be copied or reproduced.
This site contains product affiliate links. We may receive a commission if you make a purchase after clicking one of these links. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *