This content was first published on and should not be copied or reproduced.

Do you think Johnny Depp was as surprised as we were when he first learnt he would be awarded with the Style Icon Award at the 2012 CFDA Awards? It’s an interesting choice, but come to think of it, he always has had a unique and steady style over the years, with a firm and frequent hat obsession… plus he’s drop dead gorgeous, so who are we to argue with the CFDA’s choice?

Joining Mr Depp as a winner is Tommy Hilfiger, who will be presented with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, and Rei Kawakubo, who is the International Award winner.

Now onto the nominees…

Marc Jacobs is up against Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row (their first nomination – congrats girls!) and Jack McCollough & Lazara Hernandez for Proenza Schouler in the Womenswear Designer of the Year category, while Alexander Wang faces competition from Reed Krakoff and Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler for the Accessory Designer of the Year award.

Head to Vogue to see a full list of the nominees and winners.

The CFDA Awards will take place in New York on June 4th. Good luck to all the nominees; don’t forget to check back here to find out who walked away with a prize!

This content was first published on and should not be copied or reproduced.
This site contains product affiliate links. We may receive a commission if you make a purchase after clicking one of these links. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *